EN

专访陈仁毅:再现中国文化,让当代家具设计充满意义

家具 / 30 Jan 2020 / Shirley Chen

陈仁毅(Jerry J.I. Chen),出生于台湾,为「春在」创办人、设计总监,「雅典襍艺术品管理顾问公司」执行长 ,「德古·春在系列」总设计师、艺术顾问,还兼任纽约国际亚洲艺术博览会审核委员、马德里皇家普拉多博物馆国际董事、台北故宫博物院文化与创意产业讲师、苏富比拍卖公司 Sotheby’s顾问、台湾学学文创意基金会董事等等多重身份。他在2016年出版了著作《中国当代家具设计——从文化鉴赏到春在创新》,以他多年浸染中国艺术品及古典家具美学的经验,提出了非常多有意思的对于古典及当代中式家具设计的见解,是中国当代家具设计的开山之作。而在今年十月,Charlotte & Peter Fiell撰写、中国设计中心瞿铮共同编辑的《中国当代家具设计:创意新浪潮》也出版了,这是第一本以西方资深设计历史学家的角度来写的当代中国家具专著,书里也收录了不少春在的作品。因此我们找来了陈仁毅先生,来聊聊他对于中式家具的独到见解。



陈仁毅




陈先生您好,您在艺术品收藏、鉴赏领域耕耘多年,自己也做起了家具设计,这其中的渊源是什么样的故事?


从90年代到今天,我做了30年设计艺术品顾问的工作,有太多感概。我经历了1991年到2011年这20年间,中国古代家具大出口、被大量收购的时代,看到太多珍贵的艺术品在这其中就消失了。在这过程中,我了解到中国家具文化的美好,和它真正的价值。其实像我们这种经历的人太少,一个时代的家具,需要更多的人来参与。所以我才想,在当代中国家具设计这块做自己应该要做的事情。



陈仁毅的文化鉴赏工作



一个资深藏家的经历,对设计的帮助实在是太重要了。因为对我来讲,没有传统,怎么会有创新呢?所以如果今天只是谈家具设计,那其实全球每一个地区、每一个民族,很多的年轻人,他们有很多千奇百怪的想法,资讯发达嘛,所以太多人都能够做,可是意义是不一样的。我在推动的是“中式的当代设计”,是一种文化的延伸,发现一种当代中国的质感。所以这个经验对我来讲帮助太大,我希望透过文化的再现,让当代中国设计充满意义。




能否向我们介绍一件您印象最深的古典家具?能否使用比较简单的语言概括一下中国家具的精髓?


只谈一件家具其实蛮难的,因为印象最深的古典家具实在太多了。如果来谈一个品种的话,那应该就是中国椅式里面的圈椅形式。因为圈椅呢,很特别,所有人都知道中国文化对线条的表现是淋漓尽致,而一张圈椅从它的圈口线条的延伸,一直到满足现代的空间需求,实在是太了不起。


圈椅



如果要用比较简单的语言来概述中国家具的精髓,那所有人推崇的肯定是明式家具。“明式”的重点核心有两个价值,一个是简洁的线条,一个是严谨的结构。这两个重点已经涵盖了明式家具的一切意义与内涵,特别特别重要。这也是明式家具沉淀下来的文化价值和精髓。所以今天我们在谈中国当代家具设计,要创新,应该在这个基础上面再往上发展,再加上时代的功能和价值的传递,才能够成就一个全新时代的中国特色。



左:明 黄花梨圈背交椅,椅式中腿足与圈口的造型,结构与曲度创意,影响了近百年来西方家具的设计

右:清  榉木五足面盆架,透过造型线条的适度流动,表达出生活中优雅的态度



明  黄花梨嵌云石大落地屏,原为加州中国古典家具博物馆珍藏,现典藏于美国明尼苏达州博物馆。1998年,明尼苏达州博物馆中国馆开幕,这是一个西方重要博物馆,重新以明式家具做为主轴,来理解中国文化的全新开始。




为什么大家通常认为”明式“是极致的品味?对于丹麦家具设计师汉斯·维纳在40年代受圈椅所启发做的椅子设计,您怎么看?


其实在有的解读,明式是继承的宋代文人文化里面的简和雅,形和意,虚和实,动和静,等等的这些很重要的文人文化的内容,是生活实用,也是人文品位和哲学的思考。在今天各个民族的文化内涵里面,其实要超过它,还蛮难的,所以为什么说会去推崇它。


弹性的曲度和流动的线条,再加上完美的平衡感,是成就“明式”传奇最重要的内涵之一



汉斯是当代的西方的设计大师,我也特别崇敬。但他对中国家具的推崇,我觉得就是一种本能的直觉了。为什么大师会有成就,因为他的本能是非常准确的。但是如果只看形的话,我觉得是很难进入中国人生活中的思维和意境的。因为一种文化的转换,如果换一种语言,本来就很难讲到骨子里面去,更何况是一个西方人要对中国文化深度的理解,这个是比较难的。可是他能够在1940年代就受到圈椅的启发,做了中式相关风格的家具设计,我觉得我还是特别肯定他这个创意的。




中国的家具文化似乎在近代遭到了断层,您做春在品牌应该也是想要复兴中式”精致文化“,您对中国当代生活方式的理想状态是怎么理解的呢?


其实过去的一百年,相比于西方文明来讲,应该算是中国生活经验的停滞期。面对中国过去的美好,今天是有能力迎头赶上的。所以目前这个阶段,还有过去四十年,我觉得应该还是处于满足生存的阶段。但是2020年开始,我觉得中国的新阶段,新的生活方式的阶段,将会有一个全新的开始,是一个快速改变的时代,包括质与量,品味和人文,应该都是在往更好更理想的方向前进。



左:传统生活中的精致,体现在无处不在的建筑和器物细节里
右:清乾隆  剔红龙纹茶盏及盏托




您曾说过:“如果你没办法参透’结构’这件事,那‘家具文化’和‘中式风格’这两件事就和你完全无关”,为什么结构对中式家具如此重要?


结构是中国家具文化中特别重要的内容,也是中式风格中“看不见”的一种价值。就像是建筑,不能没有结构,它绝对是文化里面的基础,也是中国人特有的匠做智慧。我想讲的是,“当代设计”跟“当代中式设计”是绝对不一样的,它就差别在你想延续的,传递的是什么样的价值。



宋至明 高扶手椅扁圆材扶手互让透榫扣合式结构,椅盘边抹与腿足之间关系,方材三叉穿榫式接合(一边单榫、一边作三叉式)



明晚期 榉木斗簇门围子无束腰花牙足八柱架子床四面平式床座腿足、牙条内侧开槽挂销与面板构件结构





春在的创新榫卯结构和古董家具的旧结构相比,最大的区别是什么?


因为时代改变的现在建筑的空间宽度、高度,其实都跟过去非常不一样。现代人对家具的舒适性和功能的需求也不同,要求更高,传统家具常见的榫结方式,满足不了这些问题。所以,当代中式家具在形式上创新,其实包括了材料、工艺、榫卯、功能等等。一切都已经不只是一个什么变化或区别,而是在传统中进步和补充来满足当代设计,甚至每一个不同的时代。



左:春在《赞直》系列直棂双人椅榫接示意图——腿足上下部分粗细差异大,因此,这个榫头也是结合多种传统榫卯变体而成。格角、格肩、削方颈等做法有机结合在一起。
右:《赞直》系列,陈仁毅,2002年



春在《咏竹》系列三人椅榫接示意图——椅盘和腿的结合,外观上看似无奇,其实这里的榫卯结构综合了多种做法,除了格肩榫做法外,还结合了传统椅子腿足与椅盘结合部分“削方颈”的造法。


《咏竹》系列,陈仁毅,2007年




我注意到春在很多设计有非常优美的大段的曲线,一下子给家具带来了现代的感觉,这样的造型应该在古典家具中好像并非常见?


其实中国艺术的形式自古以来最重要就是线条的表现,从书法到其他任何的艺术,所以在家具造型自然也是离不开。只是传统家具的尺寸,有空间局限的关系,所以在感受上不太明显。传统家具中对线条要求特别特别高,就像椅子里面的四出头,圈椅的搭脑、扶手,还有像盆架、衣架,有很多弯曲的造型,还有最简单的,就像三弯腿,床、桌子的腿型,其实都是关于线条的表现。


春在家具的线条带来的现代感,这绝对是一个强烈的视觉和心理的感受。我一直都把传统的线条不断的放大,延伸,在线条里面去找到轻重、律动、舒畅,以及中国家具中特有的平衡感,让一件中式当代家具变成是当代空间中的一种稳定的力量。心安定了,自然出现了家具的美感,这些文化也自然提升了现代的品味。



《青藤》系列,陈仁毅,2012年




传统的中式家具讲究材料,喜爱珍贵的红木,您在《咏竹》系列运用了竹子,在《无倦》系列运用了环保回收的漂流木,在家具使用材料上您有什么样的考量?运用不同材料遇到过哪些挑战?


中国人做家具,尤其是生活用具,在材料上都有自己的偏好,历朝历代现存在世界各地博物馆里面的艺术品,绝大部分都是天然取材——土、竹、木、漆、藤等等。这些来自土地中自然生长的力量,是中国文化里面非常重要的内容和价值,也是艺术品位的一部分。我对所有材料应用的当代复兴是特别感兴趣的。同样的材料工艺,在不同的时代的需求和思考下,如果能够成就出一种新的使用方式,为生活提供服务,那不是特别有意义吗?每个人都说这个时代好像没有文化,其实是因为所有人都不太愿意去做而已。当你去做了,去想了以后,所有事情都会产生价值。


所有的有机材料运用,在中式家具上是一个非常重要的内容。这些材料的优点就是天然、健康、环保,缺点就是材料的应用非常不容易控制。就像木头,几百年生的,随着天气和湿度,还在自然收缩变化,还是有活性的,会呼吸的。所以,深度的去了解大自然给予我们的那个材料,适度的,绝对不是强迫性的去掌握它们,然后再把它们变成一件一件为生活实用服务的器物,每一步都得十分的用心。



《青藤》系列半成品及制作过程




在《青藤》系列里有令人惊叹的手工编织细节,您对传统手工艺与当代设计的结合有什么样的考究呢?


我个人对传统手工艺是有偏好和偏执的。我认为生活,慢有慢的好,自然有自然的好,当然我是特别享受。如果什么事情都一成不变,那就失去了艺术创作的乐趣了,所以我是在非常深度地去了解手工艺操作的情况下,在设计的过程中,慢慢地把传统跟当代的需求做一个适度的结合。我一直讲“适度”,那是中国文化里面非常重要的一个词,合适是最重要的,“过”与“不及”其实都不太好。尤其在做家具设计的时候也是一样。所以这些结合有的时候是为了满足功能,有的时候是为了表现当代性和与解决家具的舒适度。当然,有的时候也是为了延续品味和文化的记忆,都是特别重要。



陈仁毅说:“一切来自传统建筑和工艺美术中的文化元素,都可以活用在现代的设计之中。包括雕刻、髹饰、镶嵌、绘画、线条、造型等等。”




您2016年出版了著作《中国当代家具设计》,2019年我们也共同编辑了一本以西方设计历史学家的角度撰写的《中国当代家具设计:创意新浪潮》,不知您对中国当代设计即将展现在西方的大众视野中吸引越来越多的关注度有何期待?


我个人认为,中国在未来百年在世界上绝对是举足轻重,所以面对一个空前的盛世,品味和文化肯定是一个民族最重要的内容。但是一个有品味的时代也需要时间和许多人的共同努力,才会有成就。所以,现在只能努力去做,就是所有人全心全意地去做。经过了五十年一百年以后,我们再回头看这个时代,应该总是会有一些人成功,会有一些成绩。我们自己民族文化复兴的事情,做的好,自然也就会被关注到了;但是做得不好,在目前过去百来年西方的高度成就的经验之下,当然也会留下遗憾。所以,这个部分肯定要多努力,只能多做,不能多说。把要实践的价值观的意义放在前面,努力再努力,其他的就只有时间上的等待了。



您之前有提过,西方提到家具关注的是功能、材料、结构、人体工程学等,而中国则是关注文化、哲学、美学,您对在这个巨大差异中如何去向西方讲述中国当代家具设计的故事有何建议?


中国的家具文化,在过去千百年中,因为建筑的形式、礼教的传统、工艺材料上面的选择和局限性,很多人其实看到的是其中的美学价值和取材自然的哲学性。其实中国人在做东西一向是讲究平衡,包括内和外,尤其是像家具这类的生活实用品。所以和西方家具文化中着重的视角应该是大同小异,只是每个民族的品位和对一件家具着重的角度不一样。


当今天中国设计重新在崛起,我们应该怎么跟西方讲中国当代家具设计的故事,也确实是一个应该关注的议题。我们先要找到中国人自己的精神文化生活,文化品位,进而为当代生活作出新的诠释,用一件件会说话的家具作品,来感动不同国籍的每一个人。



陈仁毅设计的家具系列在空间里的展示




陈仁毅 著《中国当代家具设计—从文化鉴赏到春在创新》简介

此书自2014年开始筹备,中文版于2016年10月由北京故宫出版社出版。


三十年中国艺术品收藏经历,过眼与鉴赏无数件顶级艺术品的经验。二十年中国当代家具设计之旅,发现与奠基当代设计美学的标准。国际知名艺术品鉴定专家、春在CHUNZAI创始人陈仁毅,解密古董家具中的新发现,提出明式家具的八大非凡价值,首次打破明式家具与当代家具设计的壁垒,开创当代家具设计的先河。

故宫出版社首部文化创意丛书,两岸故宫博物院院长联袂做序推荐,分享一个深厚的家具文化世界和丰盛的创新年代经验。数十件从未曝光过的博物馆级家具艺术品珍藏,以家具文化做主轴,连接中国古代精致人文和当代创意生活,是中国家具收藏爱好者非看不可的一本书。


购买地址:https://k.ruyu.com/TfUB7Y9N



图片来源:春在/陈仁毅

陈仁毅 / 春在
19

联系我们获得更多信息

您可能感兴趣

Interview with Jerry Chen: from antique connoisseurship to contemporary Chinese furniture design

Furniture / 30 Jan 2020 / Effie Chen, Shirley Chen

Jerry J.I. Chen, born in Taiwan, is the founder and design director of Chunzai, CEO of Art of Chen Consultancy and Management, the chief designer and art consultant for ‘Degoo - Chunzai’ series. He was also a member of the vetting committee for The International Asian Art Fair in New York, an international trustee of the Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid, a lecturer on the Cultural and Creative Industries at the Palace Museum in Taipei, a consultant at Sotheby's, and a trustee of the Xue Xue Foundation in Taiwan.

He published the book ‘Chinese Contemporary Furniture Design: From Cultural Appreciation to Chunzai Creativity’ in 2016, which is probably the first masterpiece on the subject of contemporary Chinese furniture. With many years of experience in Chinese art and classical furniture, he put forward a lot of interesting ideas for classical and contemporary Chinese furniture design. In October 2019, ‘Contemporary Chinese Furniture Design: A New Wave of Creativity’, written by Charlotte & Peter Fiell with Jack Qu from China Design Centre, was published. This is the first definitive book about contemporary Chinese furniture, written from the perspective of design experts from the West, which has also included many exemplary works by Jerry Chen. Therefore, we invited Mr Chen for an interview, to talk about his unique understanding of Chinese furniture.



Jerry Chen




Hello Mr Chen, you have worked in the field of art connoisseurship and collection for many years, then started to design furniture yourself. Can you tell us about the story behind it?


From the 1990s, I have worked as a design and art consultant for 30 years, and I had so much sentiment. I went through the era of 1991 to 2011, when ancient furniture from China was exported and bought in large numbers. It was then that I saw too many precious Chinese artworks disappeared. In this process, I learned the beauty of Chinese furniture culture and its real value. However, there are too few people that have witnessed this period. That's why I started to think about what I can contribute to Chinese furniture design.



Jerry Chen working as a art connoisseur



My experience as an art collector, which taught me about tradition, is very important to help the development of Chinese design style. How can there be innovation without traditions? What I am promoting is ‘Chinese contemporary design’, which is an extension of traditional Chinese culture with a sense of modernity. I hope that through the reappearance of the traditional Chinese culture, the contemporary Chinese design will be full of real meaning.




Can you introduce us to a piece of classical furniture that impresses you the most? If possible, can you summarise the essence of Chinese furniture?


It is difficult to talk about only one piece of furniture because there are too many classical pieces of furniture that impress me. If we talk about only one category, I will choose the traditional Chinese round-backed armchair (Quan Yi).  The Chinese round-backed armchair embodies beautiful uses of lines, which constitutes an important part of Chinese traditional culture. It is impressive how the Chinese traditional round-backed armchair still serves its purpose in modern furniture design, as well as meets the needs of modern space.


Chinese round-backed armchair (Quan Yi)



The essence of Chinese furniture can be captured by Ming (Dynasty) furniture that is well-renowned by many. There are two core values of Ming-style furniture. One is its simple lines and the other is its rigorous structure. These two particularly important points have covered all the meaning and connotation of Ming furniture, as well as the cultural value and essence of Ming-style furniture. Talking about contemporary Chinese furniture design, I think we should base our innovation on the essence of Ming furniture.



Left: A huanghuali horsehoe-back folding armchair (Jiaoyi), Ming Dynasty. The curved form and the structures of the legs and the backrest of the Jiaoyi have been an important influence on Western furniture design of the past century.

Right: A southern elm five-leg basin stand, Qing Dynasty. The comfortable fluidity of the form and lines expresses an elegant attitude in life.



A large huanghuali standing screen with marble panel, Ming Dynasty. This screen originally belonged to the Museum of Classical Chinese Furniture in California and is now part of the collection of the Minneapolis Institute of Art, which is reopened after renovation in 1998 and using Ming-style furniture as a framework to present Chinese culture.




Why do people usually think that ‘Ming-style’ furniture is the most refined of all? What do you think of Hans Wegner’s chair designs in the 1940s that were inspired by the Ming-style round-backed armchairs?


In fact, some of the interpretation suggested that the Ming-style inherited its characteristics from the literati culture of the Song Dynasty, such as the concepts of simplicity and elegance, the form and the meaning, imagination and reality, movement and stillness, and so on. The cultural achievement as such has established a tasteful and practical lifestyle, with humanistic philosophical thinking. Even today, Ming-era designs are still seen as unparalleled.


The tension in a curve, the fluidity of a line, the perfect balance - these are the most important elements of the timeless Ming style.



Hans Wegner is a contemporary master of design who I also admired. His love for Chinese furniture is, I think, an instinct. Masters like him can have such achievement sometimes because of their exceptionally accurate instinct. However, if I only look at the forms of his design, I find it hard to truly represent the artistic conception of the Chinese lifestyle. Because of the language barrier, it is difficult for a Western designer to understand the traditional culture behind Chinese furniture deeply. Yet, I am more than impressed by his creativity to design furniture that was inspired by the Chinese round-backed armchair, in a time as early as the 1940s.




The development of Chinese furniture culture seems to have been interrupted in modern times. Your brand Chunzai aims to revive the ‘refinement' of Chinese culture. How do you understand the ideal state of contemporary Chinese lifestyle?


In the past 100 years, compared with Western civilisation, China had an almost stagnation period of lifestyle development. For the past 40 years, I think China was still in the stage of satisfying survival needs. However, starting in 2020, I think that China will have a completely new beginning for an era of rapid changes. Things such as quality and quantity, taste and humanity, should all be heading to a better and more ideal direction.



Left: The 'refinement' in traditional lifestyle can be often found in details of architecture and objects

Right: A carved cinnabar lacquer tea bowl and bowl stand decorated with dragons, Qianlong period, Qing Dynasty




You once said, "If you can't comprehend the ‘structure’, then the ‘furniture culture’ and ‘Chinese style ’ would have nothing to do with you.” Why is the structure so important to Chinese furniture?


The structure is a particularly important part of Chinese furniture, and it is also a type of intangible value in Chinese-style design. You can’t build something without having a structure. Structures are definitely the foundation of the furniture culture, and also the wisdom of Chinese craftsmanship. ‘Contemporary design’ is absolutely different from "contemporary Chinese design". The difference lies in what value the design conveys.



A rectangular-back armchair with high armrests, Song to Ming Dynasty. Drawing of partial structure between seat and leg.



A southern elm eight post canopy bed with latticework and flat-side corner foliage legs, late Ming Dynasty. Drawing of partial structure.




What is the biggest difference between Chunzai's innovative mortise-and-tenon structures and the ones of antique furniture?


Nowadays, the width and height of the building are very different from what they used to be. People have different, higher requirements for comfort and function of furniture. The traditional mortise-and-tenon (Sun Mao) joints in ancient furniture cannot solve these new problems. Therefore, it takes more than a change in the structure to make long-term progress. A lot more details, for example, the use of materials, craftsmanship, functionalities and mortise-and-tenon joints, will all need to be redesigned to catch up with the change of time.



Drawing, joinery of a chair with hand rails, In Praise of Rectitude Series, Jerry Chen for Chunzai, 2002



Drawing, joinery of a three-seat chair, In Praise of Bamboo Series, 2002


In Praise of Bamboo Series, Jerry Chen for Chunzai, 2002




I noticed that Chunzai has a lot of beautiful, long curvy lines in many designs, which brought a contemporary touch to your furniture, yet this style seems to be quite unusual in the classical Chinese furniture?


In fact, the most important element of Chinese art since ancient times is the expression of lines, from calligraphy to any other forms of art. Therefore the incorporation of lines is naturally inseparable from the shape of Chinese furniture. The difference, in fact, is the size of traditional furniture, which was limited by space so the expression of lines was not very obvious. In traditional furniture, the aesthetic requirement of lines is extremely high. Examples as such can be found in the design of different types of chairs, tables, beds, basin stands, hangers, which incorporate the details of curves.

The expression of lines gives Chunzai’s furniture a sense of modernity, which gives people a strong visual and emotional effect. I have always tried to enlarge and extend those traditional expressions of lines to search for weight, rhythm, and smoothness in them, as well as the unique sense of balance in Chinese furniture so that a piece of contemporary Chinese furniture can be stable and powerful in its modern space.



Green Vine Series, Jerry Chen for Chunzai, 2012




Traditional Chinese furniture is meticulous about choices of material, in favours the use of precious rosewood. You have used different materials in your designs, for example, bamboo in ‘In Praise of Bamboo’ series and recycled driftwood in ‘Tireless’ series. Can you tell us a bit more about how you choose the materials and what challenges you have encountered?


When designing furniture and everyday utensils, Chinese people have their own preferences in materials. The artworks that are in museums around the world from different dynasties have been mostly made of natural materials - clay, bamboo, wood, lacquer, rattan, etc. These natural materials have important value in Chinese culture and show the taste in art. I am particularly interested in the contemporary renaissance of traditional materials. If the same old material and craftsmanship, under different needs and way of thinking in a new era, create something new that provides services for everyday life, isn’t that truly special and meaningful? I disagree when people say that there is no ‘culture’ in our times because I believe that everything has value and meaning if you search for them.

The use of organic materials is also very important in Chinese furniture. These materials are natural, healthy, and environmentally friendly, yet they are difficult to be utilised fully. For instance, natural wood can live as long as hundreds of years old, which means the wood would naturally shrink and change with the weather and humidity. Therefore, we need to deeply understand the materials that nature has given us, grasp the nature of them and then turn them into a piece of practical furniture in a moderate and careful way.



Work in progress of Green Vine Series




There are amazing hand-woven rattan details in the ‘Green Vine’ series. What is your understanding of the combination of traditional craftsmanship and contemporary design?


I personally have an obsession with traditional crafts. I believe life is beautiful in all ways, whether it is slow or fast, although I particularly enjoy it when life is slow and natural. However, if everything stays the same, then the fun of art creation is lost. Therefore, by studying traditional craftsmanship in-depth diligently, I slowly and moderately began to combine it with contemporary needs. I kept saying the word ‘moderate’ because ‘moderation’ is a crucial concept in Chinese culture. Being ‘over’ or ‘less’ is neither enough nor good. The purpose of such a combination of the old and the new vary, as some are to satisfy certain functionalities and some are to showcase the modern look and add comfort. Without a question, the balanced combination continues our cultural memories and taste.



Jerry Chen said: "All the cultural elements from traditional architecture and craft can be used smartly in contemporary design, that includes carving, lacquer decoration, mosaic, painting, lines, forms..."




You published the book ‘Chinese Contemporary Furniture Design’ in 2016, and in 2019 our co-edited book ‘Contemporary Chinese Furniture Design: A New Wave of Creativity’ is published, written from the perspective of Western design historians. I wonder what your expectation is as contemporary Chinese design is attracting more attention in the West?


I personally believe that China will definitely play an important role in the world in the next 100 years. But refine the culture and the taste of a nation in our time requires time and joint effort from many of us. Today, all of us have to work on it wholeheartedly. After a few decades, when we look back at this period, there should be some noticeable achievement. If we do a good job of reviving our culture, the world would witness it. If we fail to make a change, in the shadow of the high cultural achievement that the West has experienced in the past century, it would be such a pity. The way to start this change is to quit talking and start doing. If we put the meaning of the practical design values first and work harder than ever, the rest will come in time.




As you mentioned before, when talking about furniture design, in the West, the focuses are mostly on function, material, structure and ergonomics; while in China, more attention is paid to culture, philosophy and aesthetics. What is your advice on how to tell the story of the Chinese contemporary furniture design to the world?


In the past thousand years of Chinese furniture culture, because of the choice and limitation of the architectural style, the tradition of etiquette, and craft materials, many actually see the aesthetic value and philosophy of using natural materials. In fact, Chinese people always pay attention to ‘balance’ when making things, from inside to outside, especially for practical products such as furniture. There shouldn’t be so much different in the West in the principal of furniture, but there might be differences in taste, and emphasis on a piece of furniture.

As Chinese design attracts more international attention, it is worth discussing how we tell the story of Chinese contemporary design. Most importantly, for me, we should first define our own cultural taste and lifestyle to interpret them into contemporary design. Only when we design furniture that tells the truth and stories of our own people, can we touch and move those from different cultures and nationalities.



Jerry Chen's furniture collection in display



Image courtesy of  Jerry J.I Chen / Chunzai

Jerry J.I. Chen / Chunzai
7

Contact for information

You may also like